Find out today date based on the hijri calendar used in Islamic countries.

The twelve Hijri months are named as follows in Arabic:

  1. Muḥarram — المحرّم, "forbidden"
  2. Ṣafar — صفر, "void"
  3. Rabīʿ I (Rabīʿ al-Awwal) — ربيع الأوّل, "the first spring".
  4. Rabīʿ II (Rabīʿ ath-Thānī or Rabīʿ al-Ākhir) — ربيع الثاني or ربيع الآخر, "the second (or last) spring".
  5. Jumādā I (Jumādā al-Ūlā) — جمادى الأولى, "the first month of parched land". Often considered the pre-Islamic "summer".
  6. Jumādā II (Jumādā ath-Thāniya or Jumādā al-Ākhira) — جمادى الثانية or جمادى الآخرة, "the second (or last) month of parched land".
  7. Rajab — رجب, "respect" or "honor".
  8. Shaʿbān — شعبان, "scattered"
  9. Ramaḍān — رمضان, "scorched". Ramadan is the most venerated month of the Hijri calendar during which Muslims have to fast from dawn till sunset and honoring the poor people with something a brother or a sister needs within his or her society.
  10. Shawwāl — شوّال, "raised".
  11. Dhū al-Qaʿda — ذو القعدة.
  12. Dhū al-Ḥijja — ذو الحجّة.